The Club Constitution


  1. The Club shall be called Stroud Camera Club; the Club’s aim is to promote interest in photography in Stroud and the surrounding areas, and to encourage the development of its members’ photographic skills in planning, capture and processing.
  2. The affairs of the Club shall be managed by a committee consisting of the Officers (plus assistants where considered necessary) and not more than three additional members elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM). Five members of the Committee shall form a quorum.
  3. The Officers shall consist of a Chairman, Chairman-elect (where appointed), Club Secretary, Club Treasurer, Programme Secretary, Competition Secretary and Publicity Secretary. All positions to be elected or re-elected annually at the AGM.
  4. Elections for the above positions for the following season shall take place at the AGM. The Chairman can be re-elected to serve a maximum of three consecutive years. If the Chairman is not re-elected or is otherwise unable to continue in post, the Committee will elect an acting-Chairman until a replacement Chairman can be elected by members at a Special General Meeting or AGM. In the penultimate year of a Chairman's tenure, members will elect a Chairman-elect to ensure continuity and give time to back-fill posts if required.
  5. Newly elected Officers will formally take up their position between the last Thursday of the official programme of events, and 1st September. Retiring Officers will step down sometime between the last Thursday of the official programme of events, and 1st September as agreed by the committee
  6. The Club Secretary shall keep the minutes of all meetings and will conduct the general correspondence of the Club. The Club Treasurer shall be responsible for all financial transactions of the Club and at the close of the year a Statement of Income and Expenditure shall be drawn up and audited. A detailed description of all Club Officers' Roles can be seen at all times on the Club Website under the "Club" menu
  7. The annual subscription shall be reviewed each year at the AGM. The Club Treasurer shall have power to reduce the amount payable by first-time new members joining later in the season on a half-yearly basis.
  8. The annual subscription shall be due from each member at the first meeting of the season and is to be paid within four weeks of the due date.
  9. If in the opinion of the committee there is cause for the expulsion of any member of the Club, the case may be brought up either at the AGM or at a Special General Meeting (SGM) convened for that purpose. Voting will be by ballot.
  10. The Committee shall have discretion to award Honorary Life Membership to members who have made a significant contribution to the club over a long period. This entitles them to free life membership.
  11. No alteration or addition to this Constitution shall be made except at the AGM, or, if the Committee agrees, the Chairman shall call an SGM. The reason for the meeting shall be included in the agenda and only those matters shall be discussed. At least 14 days’ notice of such an S.G.M shall be given to all members by correspondence or by announcement at two ordinary club meetings. A third of the Club membership shall form a quorum.
  12. The AGM shall be held between the 1st April and the 1st June. A third of the Club membership shall form a quorum.
  13. The Financial year shall be from 1st April to 31st March.
  14. In the event that the Committee recommends the winding up of the Club at an AGM or SGM, the formal proposal shall include arrangements for the disposal of Club assets.
  15. All members shall honour the rules of the Club.